Quentin Rollet, Jean-Marc Foussat, Christian Rollet – “Entrée des Puys de grêle” (Bisou Records, 2018)

“Entrée des Puys de grêle” was released on January 15, 2018. Album was recorded by avant-garde jazz trio from France – Quentin Rollet (alto and sopranino saxes, electronics), Christian Rollet (drums, percussion) and Jean-Marc Foussat (AKS Synthi, voice). The improvisations by this trio have interesting and original sound – musicians like brave and innovative experiments, search and extract new and extraordinary timbres, use inventive musical decisions. Their improvisations are very dynamic and expressive. Various elements of avant-garde and modern jazz, academical and electronic music intonations and other music styles are synthesized together in one place. Different styles, musical expressions, original and unique playing by each musician gently fit in one place and make the whole album sound expressive, dynamic and vivacious. All three musicians have been playing, collaborating and recording albums with many avant-garde jazz masters of France, Europe and America jazz scene – it’s Eugene Chadburn, Noel Akchote, Augustin Brousseloux, Colin Potter, Ramon Lopez, Roger Turner, Joe McPhee, Jamai Moss and many others.

This album compositions are based on synthesis of various music styles. Avant-garde jazz and experimental music – these two different music styles are the main styles of these compositions. There’s also are heard many elements of bebop, hard-bop and other modern jazz styles, intonations of contemporary academical music, electronic music and free improvisation. Compositions have free structure, polyphonic and rich musical pattern, which is contained of many different musical expressions. Expressive and vivacious saxophones melodies played by Quentin Rollet make a high effort to whole sound. Saxophonist improvisations are full of wild fast and furious solos, has sharp, aggressive, extraordinary and striking sound. Spontaneously made solos, evocative, especially expressive, passionate and vivacious improvisations, unusual timbres and other elements gently fit together with electronics. Improviser inventively and creatively use and combines together unusual timbres of acoustic instruments and various playing techniques of electronic music. His improvisations are dynamic, full of sudden changes, concrete and electronic music sounds, academical music intonations are masterfully fused together with expressive, wild fast, contrasting and extravagant saxophones improvisations. Jean-Marc Foussat synth and voice improvisations highly effect the improvisations sound and make it sound more effective and interesting. He try out many different playing techniques – field recordings, nature and street sounds, wide range of electronic music playing techniques are masterfully combined with voice improvisations. Jean-Marc Foussat and Quentin Rollet electronic music instruments improvisations create and keep solid, interesting and gorgeous background. Voice and saxophones duos have effective and expressive sound, are based on individual playing style and manner. Saxophones melodies are very energetic and passionate, voice improvisations have calm, peaceful and monotonic sound for the most of the time. Compositions also have very dynamic and strong rhythmical section which is leaded by Christian Rollet. Percussionist and drummer try out many different playing techniques – his music for the most of the time is very expressive, dynamic, active and extremely energetic. Powerful, vibrant, energetic and active drum solos are fused with unusual, extraordinary and gorgeous percussion sounds. Rhythmical and melodic sections are independent and highly differ from each other. All three musicians are improvising marvelously, inventively, free and spontaneously – collective trio improvisations are the most effective, passionate and interesting episodes of the album. Rich and evocative musical language, inventive and masterful improvising make original and interesting sound of this album.

6 thoughts on “Quentin Rollet, Jean-Marc Foussat, Christian Rollet – “Entrée des Puys de grêle” (Bisou Records, 2018)”

  1. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to be running off the screen in Internet explorer. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know. The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue solved soon. Many thanks


  2. Thanks for your post. One other thing is always that individual states in the United states of america have their particular laws in which affect people, which makes it quite difficult for the the nation’s lawmakers to come up with a new set of rules concerning property foreclosure on householders. The problem is that each state offers own legislation which may have impact in an adverse manner with regards to foreclosure insurance policies.


  3. Hi, Neat post. There is a problem with your site in internet explorer, would test this… IE still is the market leader and a huge portion of people will miss your fantastic writing due to this problem.


  4. I think this is one of the most vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers


  5. wonderful post, very informative. I’m wondering why
    the other specialists of this sector don’t realize this. You should continue your writing.
    I’m sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: