Cortex – “Avant-Garde Party Music” (Clean Feed, 2017)

“Avant-Garde Party Music” is one of the newest “Clean Feed Records” release. The album was recorded by avant-garde jazz ensemble “Cortex”. All the musicians of “Cortex” are famous and talented experimental jazz masters – that’s Thomas Johansson (trumpet), Kristoffer Alberts (saxophones), Ola Høyer (double bass) and Gard Nilssen (drums). This quartet members are improvising together for a long time now. They already had released many albums which have evocative and extraordinary sound. Music of “Cortex” is very energetic, evocative, full of various musical experiments, special sound effects, different musical expressions which all are mixed together. The ensemble members improvise absolutely different from each other, but their improvisations gently fit in one musical pattern. Their music is always interesting and very dynamic – they masterfully put together different music elements which are strongly contrasting with each other. This album release is not the first one released by “Clean Feed Records” – several years ago this record company released an outstanding “Cortex” album “Live”.

The album music has extraordinary and interesting sound. The collective avant-garde jazz improvisations are the main center of the compositions. Evocative, energetic, lively and dynamic solos are full of many different musical elements. Glamorous riffs, arpeggios, loud and powerful blow outs, constantly changing rhythmic, sharp harmony turn the most part of compositions very energetic and outstanding sound. The musicians try out many extended and innovative playing techniques which help them to explore and create unusual and extraordinary sound of the compositions. Fast, lous and very active collective improvisations are strongly contrasting with absolutely different part of these compositions. “Perception”, “Obverse/Reverse” and some other compositions are based on soft and quiet sound, musical experiments, avant-garde and traditional jazz styles, blues synthesis. These improvisations have consonance harmony, soft, calm and quiet sound and memorable melodies with blues elements in it. The musicians improvising is very interesting and innovative, with all different musical elements essentially mixed together. The melodic basement of the compositions is put against rhythmical basement. The most part of melodies have memorable, expressive and marvelous sound with wide range of different musical expressions in it. The rhythmic is contrasting with melodies – it contains of energetic drum rolls, different kinds of beats and rhythmic formulas, active, expressive and loud playing. The synthesis of different musical elements, expressive and outstanding improvising and many other elements make an essential and innovative sound of this album compositions.

68 thoughts on “Cortex – “Avant-Garde Party Music” (Clean Feed, 2017)”

  1. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I?ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

    Like

  2. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I?ll appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Like

  3. Hi there, just became aware oof your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative.

    I am going tto watch out for brussels. I will be grateful
    if you continue this in future. A lot of people
    will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Like

  4. I blog quite often and I seriously thank you for your
    content. This geat article has truly peaked my interest.

    I’m going to bookmark your blog andd keep checking for
    new information about once a week. I opted in for your
    RSS feed as well.

    Like

  5. Hi! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success. If you know of any please share. Thanks!

    Like

  6. Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it
    frlm somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make
    my blog jump out. Pllease let me know where you got your design. With thanks

    Like

  7. I don’t even know how I stopped up right here, but I thought tthis publish was once great.
    I do not understandd who you’re but definitely you’re going to
    a well-known blogger iin case you aren’t already. Cheers!

    Like

  8. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your website, how can i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The acccount helped mee a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquained oof this yokur broadcast provided bright clear concept

    Like

  9. Do you mind if I quote a couplefew of your postsarticles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpagesitewebsiteweblogblog? My blog sitewebsiteblog is in the very sameexact same area of interestniche as yours and my visitorsusers would certainlydefinitelygenuinelytrulyreally benefit from a lot of thesome of the information you presentprovide here. Please let me know if this alrightokayok with you. RegardsThanks a lotAppreciate itCheersThank youMany thanksThanks!

    Like

  10. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find
    nearly all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write regarding here.
    Again, awesome website!

    Like

  11. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

    Like

  12. I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this site. Studying this information So i am glad to show that I have an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed. I most undoubtedly will make sure to do not forget this site and give it a look on a relentless basis.

    Like

Leave a comment