Elliott Sharp|SysOrk – “Mare Undarum” (Zoar Records, 2018)

Mare Undarum by Elliott Sharp

“Mare Undarum”was released on March by “Zoar Records”. The compositions written by Elliott Sharp were masterfully and creatively played and recorded by “SysOrk” ensemble. Elliott Sharp is a composer who connects many different music styles in traditions in his music. Avant-garde jazz, contemporary academical music, academic avant-garde, experimental, electronic and computer music, the intonations of spectral music, free improvisation and many other similar contemporary academical music styles are organically combined together in one place. Elliott Sharp also is a masterful multiinstrumentalist and improviser. He’s very famous in American avant-garde jazz scene. The compositions of Elliott Sharp frequently have the academical music intonations, connected together with noise, rock, funk and other popular music rhythms and intonations. The musical pattern of the compositions usually is very difficult and has many different layers. Various colors, weird timbres, inventive and expressive ways of playing, traditional composing techniques and musical experiments, very bright, fresh and evocative musical language – all these elements highly effect the music of Elliott Sharp. Composer has a masterful ability to switch and travel between contrasting and absolutely different music styles -the elements of academical music, avant-garde jazz, modern jazz, contemporary jazz, rock, funk and other music styles are gently fused together in one place. The huge range of various compositions forms also reveals universal and interesting style of this composer and his wide abilities and talent – free improvisations, pieces for solo instruments, music for bands, string quartets, electronic music instruments, symphony orchestras and chamber ensembles and other music forms and genres are used in Elliott Sharp music.

“Mare Undarum” has evocative and interesting sound. Inventive musical decisions, bright musical language, the synthesis between free improvisations, avant-garde jazz, modern and contemporary jazz styles, electronic and experimental music are heard in these compositions. These compositions are always somewhere between free improvisations and evocative academic avant-garde. Abstract form, difficult and polyphonic musical language, hge variety of different musical expressions, sounds, timbres, polythythmy, polyharmony, masterful usage of electronics, musical experiments of acoustic instruments – all these elements bring fresh, evocative and interesting sound. The album has calm, relaxing and subtle mood for the most of the time. Various compilations of the instruments, impressive musical decisions, colorful instrumentation, dissonance and sharp harmony, soft and gorgeous consonances, dynamic and constantly changing rhythmic – all these elements get together in one place. The composer really knows, how to combine acoustics and electronics in effective and original way. Sonic system experiments, spectral and concrete music intonations, various specific timbres, which have synthetic and harsh sound, computer devices sounds, various excerpts of field recordings and other very well-known playing techniques are gently combined together with acoustics. Subtle, natural and soft acoustic instruments solos highly effect whole sound. It makes the sound more live, warm, natural and expressive. Relaxing and calm solos are based on abstract musical pattern and individual musical patterns by each musician. Individual melodies and rhythms by each musician are filled with special effects, weird sounds, experimental playing techniques and have interesting sound. The main mood of this album stay practically the same all the time – it doesn’t have memorable, roaring, furious and expressive solos or memorable and impressive melodies. The highest attention of the musicians is paid to sound experiments, search of unusual sounds and timbres and interesting combinations between various music forms, scales, harmonies, rhythms and other elements of musical language. This album has effective, subtle, interesting and evocative sound.

10 thoughts on “Elliott Sharp|SysOrk – “Mare Undarum” (Zoar Records, 2018)”

  1. That is really fascinating, You’re an overly skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!


  2. Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and amazing design.


  3. Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a 40 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!


  4. Thanks , I’ve recently been searching for info about this topic for ages and yours is the best I’ve discovered so far. But, what about the conclusion? Are you positive concerning the source?


  5. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: